
[ I tried to look "Medical Reinvestment Fund" up on Japanese sites (and English ones) to find out more about it but I couldn't find anything about it. Do you know what its called in Japanese? ]
I think that this is a great idea! Doctors already get paid so much so I think putting a little percentage into medical research wouldn't hurt (although it depends on what percentage of their paycheck is mandatory). The doctors are the ones using the medical technology anyway, so why not have them contribute a little toward the cause. I think it will make doctors more appreciative of these technologies they use, and maybe even more interested in what they are paying for and maybe get involved in the research.
Since Japan has officially declared an economic recession a couple of days ago, I think that this fund is even more important. When the government and economy are not doing good, money towards research on medical technologies are probably going to decrease. If there is a constant contribution from doctors, who are unlikely to see a huge decrease in their paychecks, then this can help maintain the pursuit of new technologies. I can imagine that this sort of system would work in places like Singapore as well, but NOT the United States (everyone would start talking about their rights as an individual who has earned that money and why they should have to pay for the benefit of all others).
No comments:
Post a Comment