I think that the medical reinvestment fund is a very noble but physicians should only have to contribute to this fund if they are attaining a certain profit level. For example, there should be a cap set and if the physician earns more than that cap, then excess profits can be distributed to this fund. This type of reinvestment does a few things:
1. It encourages physicians to be part of this field for its intended purpose of aiding the health of others, thereby discouraging those who feel that they should enter medicine for the money. If you want to fly on private jets and own a yacht, well then, go into business.
2. Advancement of science cannot take place unless it is well funded. A great example of this is the number of available treatment options for breast cancer patients. B/c organizations such as the Susan B. Komen foundation have been so successful in raising money, scientists have been able to use this money toward advances in the field.
3. Health care in general will improve in Japan if physicians are willing to contribute to a fund that's sole intention is to advance the medical care of the country. This not only sets a precedent for younger physicians to follow but also instills a mindset that change is a necessary part of the system and that the only way to keep moving forward in a positive direction is by altering pieces of the system that are lacking.
I do have a hard time mandating someone to contribute their profits beyond a certain point. What if one physician works very long hours while another keeps normal business office hours? Shouldn't the physician who puts in long hours be compensated appropriately? Well, I guess that there would be less incentive to work very long hours and in a sense, this may be damaging to the field. But overall, I think that the medical reinvestment fund would be more advantageous.
Wednesday, November 19, 2008
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment