Tuesday, November 18, 2008

The Doctor Tax!


First of all, I would need to know what proportion of the doctors' paychecks are mandatory. For example, anything up to 3% of a doctor's annual salary seems reasonable as long as they are able to utilize the reinvestment in some shape or form (ie physicians working in certain hospitals contribute to buy new medical diagnostic equipment). It seems unfair that doctors would have to pay this extra tax and I hope that everyone is paying a little more as well or pay a little extra on a sliding scale based on income. And though I would consider mandatory contributions from doctors as increasing a society's solidarity and an increasing willingness to share risk, I disagree that this has to be mandatory. I feel like each person should be able to do what they want with their money. From what I can remember, Japanese already pay premiums and out-of-pocket costs, so why should doctors have to pay more? That is, unless they benefit in some way, by reducing their diagnostic times, improve health outcomes or quality and efficacy issues. It's almost like they're being taxed for being doctors...which is definitely annoying if it's a significant mandatory tax.

No comments: